Stress leave.

So since January I have been on a stress leave from work. Basically I was burnt out and couldn’t take teaching anymore. So I left for the time being and I will be going back in a little less than three weeks. I had all these plans for what I was going to do on my time off in terms of my career and I haven’t really done any of them at all. I have gotten back to doing crafting which I haven’t done in a long time. I have done a few sewing and embroidery projects which has kept me busy in the evenings. Something I plan on continuing to do once I go back to work on March 5th as a stress reliever. I have read some finance books and started reading some career ones only to be derailed from different Myers-Briggs surveys. Am I really an ENFP or ENFJ? Or what about ESFP or ESFJ? Does it really make a difference? I would read the characteristics of one of them and decide it didn’t sound like me at all. I think there are many jobs I “could” do, but what do I really want to do? I decided to shelve those books for now and have gone back to reading my Suze Orman ones!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stress leave.

  1. Roberta Romero says:

    It sounds like you have done the amount you can do for now – sewing, doing crafts, reading. If you are on leave for stress the last thing you need to do is stress out more, hence the few activities you have done. Our body & minds intuitively know what is best for us. When I was in a head on collision I thought ok I’ll go to physically therapy and take my 2 grad courses and find a pt job. My body and soul only allowed for physically therapy and 1 class, I had to drop the other, and lots of sleep.

    It sounds like your current passion is finance.

    What do you love?
    What are you passionate about?
    What would you do if skills/money were not an issue?

    • cerulean74 says:

      good questions roberta!

      annaka just told me about a book called “the passion test” which might help me figure these things out. i have spent a lot of my free time lately doing crafts but i am not skillful enough to turn this into a job. i have been focusing on finances because i want to set up my money so that it will work for me other than just sitting in a savings account doing nothing. especially since my income will most likely drop for 2012 with me leaving my job in june.

      after having met with a financial planner i feel more confused that ever because basically i didn’t get any advice except that it will cost me over $2000 a year for me to use her for advice! a bit discouraging since i only want to invest about $5000 to start!

      • Roberta Romero says:

        don’t be discouraged imagine there are blogs out there that help you to invest where you don’t have to pay someone $2K….or you can create your own journey to better investment choices 🙂

      • robin of rockville says:

        A friend of mine who got addicted to investing bought me ‘Investing for Dummies,’ which he highly recommends.

  2. Robin of Rockville says:

    Hey, you’ve got a blog! Cool. Coincidentally, I just re-took the Meyers-Briggs test recently and I’m an INFJ. There’s even a meet-up group in SF for it. It was interesting to meet somewhat like minds and discuss our particular personality proclivities.

    A new career sounds like a welcome shift for you, and it will naturally take time to figure out what else you want to do for the rest of your life. Another career counselor might help. Maybe in your gut you know what you *really* want to do in life but are afraid to admit it to yourself? Writer, record store owner, book seller, homemaker, etsy store owner? Student of life/art/psychology?

    Good luck and godspeed!

  3. cerulean74 says:

    yes robin, i just started on here and i am still trying to figure the site out. veronica got me interested in starting one again since she has one on here. what is your blog address? i want to read it!

Leave a Reply

