April marches on…

Wow, I can’t believe that tomorrow is already April Fool’s Day.  Where did the month of March go?  Somehow I missed it among St. Patrick’s Day and now Easter.  I kept meaning to write, but well, there was always something better on TV to watch that what I had to say in a blog that no one, (well maybe one person) reads.  But this coming week is a big one for me.  I have a birthday coming up on the fourth and it will be the final one of the 30’s.  Yes, I am turning 39. It seems like it was just a few years ago that I was in my “early thirties”, then came my “mid thirties”, and now the final stretch of my “late thirties”.  I don’t where all the time went except to watching TV shows.  Tonight is the season finale of “The Walking Dead” but next week brings the return of “Mad Men”.  There is always something I am watching whether it is “Grimm”, “Once Upon A Time” or “Doctor Who” on live TV or watching the first season of “Community” on Hulu Plus.  And don’t forget, there are UK shows on Hulu Plus that I can’t even watch on regular TV like “Spy”.  For some reason I have always had a soft spot for British TV shows.  I am not sure if it is the accents or the cute cars, but I will watch a bad British Sit-com over an American one any day.

This last week was Spring Break for the school district so instead of looking for a real job, I decided to watch a lot of telly.  Yes, I was sick, but that is beside the point.  I could have read a book, but no, TV has always been my favorite babysitter and comfort-maker.  I have always tried to downplay the amount of TV that I watch, but I would be lying if I said that I can make it through the week without watching “The Colbert Report” or “The Daily Show” on Hulu along with re-watching the last episode of “Revolution” that aired in December before going on hiatus until the end of March.

So instead of living my own life, I have watched people on TV living their lives.  Through a ad agency in the 60’s or a zombie apocalypse on AMC, or what qualifies as present day in rainy Portland or Storybrooke, I have always found other peoples lives to be more interesting than my own.  Mind you, I don’t watch reality TV except for a little “Pawn Stars” or “Iron Chef” here or there.  I don’t get wrapped up in “The Bachelor” or “Dancing with the Stars” and I have never seen “Honey Boo Boo” or the other drivel on TLC or Lifetime.  I like to think that I am above those shows.  And while I am excited to watch the second season of “Call the Midwife” and “Mr. Selfridge” on PBS, but I am not a PBS buff either.  I just like to escape and dream.  I like to imagine what life would be like in other time periods, and in other countries.  I like to imagine what it would be like if there were monsters walking amongst us that only Grimms could see.  I like to imagine living through anything different that what I live with every day.

I guess I could try to make daily life a little more interesting, but I have always lived in my head.  I travel in my head, have conversations in my head, do jobs in my head, heck, I even think about what I am going to blog about in my head before typing it out.

But my Spring days have passed and I am well into my Summer years.  I should be living on ice cream and chocolate kisses according to Billy Bragg, but I am here, watching it all unfold on television.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

